The Teaching Begins: Dr. Michael Gayle Reflects

Another day in Ulaanbaatar brought new new experiences in and outside of the hospital. I brought the medical staff t-shirts I took from Jacksonville and they were very excited and appreciative. Did rounds again where I saw a 2 month old who was admitted the day before with a history of VSD. However, an echo performed there showed the infant also had a coarctation of the aorta. He was in respiratory distress and had evidence of poor perfusion. I suggested they tried some Prostaglandin but they did not have that medication in their hospital. The infant will require surgical repair very soon but sadly they do not do that type of cardiac surgery on children under 2 years.

I had my first experience giving a lecture to an audience that did not speak English and I did not speak their language. I had an interpreter but it still took twice as long to give the lecture due to the language barrier. I know I will have to make some adjustments to my presentations over the next three days.

Image

In the evening we went to a Mongolian restaurant where we had several Mongolian dishes including the “real Mongolian barbecue”. One thing I know when I get back to Jacksonville is that I will not want to eat any meat dishes for awhile.

Image

-Dr. Michael Gayle

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Terry Humphrey

     /  August 28, 2013

    🙏

    Reply

Leave a Reply

